J. Wainwright & Co. was founded in 1891, when a local auctioneer by the name of John Wainwright decided to diversify into the quarrying industry.
Wainwright spotted a burgeoning market for construction materials, and was quick to capitalise on it.
By the start of the 20th century, with the company going from strength and strength, Wainwright and his business partners John Laver and John Purnell Luff owned the only basalt quarry in the Mendips – Moons Hill in Stoke St Michael.
This is where Wainwright is based to this day, and the quarry continues to provide the high-quality stone that has become our stock in trade. Over the years, we’ve branched out into other areas, manufacturing a wider range of materials and offering contracting services in surfacing and civil engineering.
John Wainwright’s philosophy continues to inform Wainwright in the 21st century. That’s why we’re committed to providing the highest levels of customer service.
It’s also why we’re proud to think of ourselves as a family business, with a number of long-serving employees and deep roots in our local community.
And finally, it’s what drives us to explore new ways of expanding, so as to safeguard our founder’s legacy for future generations.